Haven Reviews: Search results

9 fanfic reviews found matching your criteria

Regala Electra

Alligator Alley

Fandom: Buffy, Farscape (cross-over)
Rating: PG-13
Type: Gen
Pairing: n/a
Themes: Drama, vignette
Reviewed by: Selenay
Reviewer's home URL:
Dated added: 01-07-2004
Length: 10-40KB
Plot: A Slayer and an astronaut walk into a bar. Stop me if you've heard this one.
Review: The summary is remarkably accurate. There are spoilers for the Buffy S7 finale and the Farscape S4 finale, so you can see where and how this might work (especially if you know Farscape better than I do *g*).
Why did I like this?
I didn't have to strain the bounds of the shows too far to convince myself it was plausible. That's always one of the weaknesses of a cross-over. It's basically a conversation between Buffy and John Crichton and it sounded like those characters. There was no awkward attempt to pair the two of them up and I ended it feeling vaguely hopeful for both of them. Basically, it's an example of how a cross-over can work well without mucking with characterisation and plausibility. It does the cross-over well and I felt like I'd learnt something new about both characters. Isn't that one of the reasons we read fanfic?
Warning: No warnings
Archive: Leviathan: The Farscape Fan Fiction Automated Archive

Raven

Shelter From The Storm

Fandom: Doctor Who, Harry Potter (cross-over)
Rating: PG
Type: Slash
Pairing: Tenth Doctor/Remus
Themes: Angst, drama, H/C
Reviewed by: Selenay
Reviewer's home URL:
Dated added: 19-05-2006
Length: 10-40KB
Plot: The first time for him is not the first time for the Doctor.
Review: The reason I initially clicked into this was because Raven used that first line as her summary and it intrigued me so much. The idea of a Doctor Who/Harry Potter cross-over seemed odd, the pairing didn't really catch me, but that first sentence did.
I'm pleased to report that the rest of the fic lives up to that first sentence. The beauty of time travel is that things aren't necessarily linear and that's something Raven plays with well. The writing is what really makes this fic work because it does appear on the surface to be an odd combination of fandoms and pairings. Raven writes it so well though, with a deft touch for the deeper ideas that she only hints at, that you can be persuaded that this really does work. She also has a great feel for the characters and what they're doing, which makes this a great combination.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: loneraven: Shelter From The Storm

Resonant

The Teeth of the Hydra

Fandom: Due South
Rating: NC-17
Type: Slash-het mixed
Pairing: Fraser/RayK
Themes: Action/adventure, drama, romance
Reviewed by: Selenay
Reviewer's home URL:
Dated added: 24-03-2006
Length: Over 100KB
Plot: A tattoo story.
Review: The simplicity of the plot description hides the involving story that it actually tells. In the present day, Ray and Fraser have to solve the mystery of an assailant who drugs and tattoos his victims - the kind of story that might possibly have popped up as a subplot in a Due South episode.
The thing that makes this story stand out is the way Resonant interweaves this plot with the story of Ray's adolesence. She paints a real portrait of Ray growing up and gradually working out who he is and what he wants. There is never a sense that she's dismissing Stella's involvement. In fact, and Ray and Stella's relationship is the core of that part of the story. On the box it says that this is a Ray/Fraser story - which it is - but it's more about Ray and who he is. Read this if you want some great writing and an insight into who RayK all wrapped into an enjoyable slash fic.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: in medias Res

Rageprufrock

Deriving the Prime

Fandom: House
Rating: R
Type: Slash-het mixed
Pairing: House/Wilson/Cuddy
Themes: Angst, drama, romance
Reviewed by: Selenay
Reviewer's home URL:
Dated added: 19-05-2006
Length: 10-40KB
Plot: Two is the wrong prime number.
Review: I've spent the past five minutes debating how to classify the themes in this fic because it's actually very difficult to classify. It's not quite a drama, it's angsty but on in a House-ish way and House doesn't really do romance very well.
This also isn't a fic that I originally intended to review. I read it, enjoyed it, but didn't immediately click into the reviews form. Two days later, though, and I still can't get it out of my mind. I'm not quite sure what it is, but something about the fic stays with you for a long time afterwards and makes you look at the characters in a slightly different way. That's really why I'm reccing it - this is a short, odd kind of fic that made me think about the characters again and hasn't left my head yet.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: East Coast Gazette

Raven

In the Bleak Midwinter

Fandom: Merlin
Rating: R
Type: Slash
Pairing: Arthur/Merlin
Themes: Angst, drama, ER
Reviewed by: Selenay
Reviewer's home URL:
Dated added: 12-01-2009
Length: 10-40KB
Plot: Merlin and Arthur, freezing cold, at the start of things.
Review: So much Merlin fic is silly and cracky, so it's great to find a Merlin fic that looks a little more deeply at both characters. The atmosphere and descriptions in this fic are beautiful, the writing just superb. Raven captures their characterisation on the page and makes you think just a little more about their relationship.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: LJ - loneraven: In the Bleak Midwinter

RivkaT

Skin Deep

Fandom: Smallville
Rating: NC-17
Type: Slash
Pairing: Clark/Lex
Themes: Humor
Reviewed by: paranoidangel
Reviewer's home URL: Angelic Paranoia
Dated added: 01-06-2004
Length: Over 100KB
Plot: Cliche-fic: Clark among the women.
Review: This fic is quite silly - the whole premise of Clark being turned into a woman has to make it that way. And his reaction is quite funny - as are the reactions of those that know about it. But it's also really good. Clark tries to adjust to living as a woman, Pete tries not to lust after him, Clark's parents try to get used to having a daughter. Clark reacts by having sex with Lex. And Lex, of course, steals the show by just being Lex.
Nothing much happens in the middle but that's where all the clues are as to how it will end, so it's unputdownable. And the ending is just perfect.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: Level Three Records Room

Ruby

Not Yet

Fandom: Smallville
Rating: NC-17
Type: Slash
Pairing: Clark/Lex
Themes: Drama, romance
Reviewed by: paranoidangel
Reviewer's home URL: Angelic Paranoia
Dated added: 06-01-2005
Length: Over 100KB
Plot: Sequel to 'Promise.' About six months have passed and the boys trade Smallville weirdness for Metropolis weirdness.
Review: Although the summary says this story is a sequel to 'Promise' it can probably be read on its own. Anyway, this one's better. It's a great romance story without actually having Clark and Lex in any kind of relationship. At this point they're both friends, they both love each other, and they both know the other does, they're just not going to do anything about it. And it's this that makes the story so good - the scenes between the two of them are so touching. And the sex (this is an NC-17 rated story, after all) is actually there for a reason.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: Smallville Slash Archive

rhoddlet

Swim

Fandom: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace
Rating: G
Type: Gen
Pairing: n/a
Themes: Vignette
Reviewed by: paranoidangel
Reviewer's home URL: Angelic Paranoia
Dated added: 15-04-2007
Length: Under 10 KB
Plot: Masters, padawans, the fear of water.
Review: The story ties in Obi-Wan and Anakin's relationship with Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon's: how they're different, how they're the same, and how Obi-Wan misses his Master. The characterisation of Anakin makes sense with reference to TPM. Obi-Wan in this is lovely and sweet and caring. It's a nice feel-good fic.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: mere shadow and vapor

roga

Congrats, You've Met Your Match (The Space Captain Remix)

Fandom: Stargate Atlantis, Star Trek XI (cross-over)
Rating: R
Type: Slash
Pairing: Jim Kirk/John Sheppard
Themes: Humor
Reviewed by: paranoidangel
Reviewer's home URL: Angelic Paranoia
Dated added: 24-04-2010
Length: 10-40KB
Plot: Jim Kirk has issues with the new guy. (Academy fic)
Review: When I first read this I couldn't imagine any way that anyone could make this pairing work - but then roga does. Sheppard fits into the Star Trek universe really well and it's interesting to see him in that setting. Mostly I really liked the humour in it as Kirk hats the new guy and poor Bones has to put up with his friend going on about it and give Kirk advice.
Warning: No warnings
Archive: LJ - Remix Redux VII: Congrats, You've Met Your Match (The Space Captain Remix)